Egan, Indian Bayou schools nominated as ‘Distinguished’

Article Image Alt Text

The Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) announced two Louisiana schools, W. W. Stewart Elementary School in Evangeline Parish and J.S. Clark Elementary School in the City of Monroe, will be honored as Distinguished Schools by the National Association of State Title I Directors for exceptional student performance.

Egan Elementary School in Acadia Parish and Indian Bayou Elementary School in Vermilion Parish were among nine schools also nominated for the honor.

 Based on criteria outlined in the national No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act, each year the National Title I Distinguished Schools Program recognizes two schools from each state that have achieved Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for two or more consecutive years. AYP is the minimum level of performance schools and districts must achieve each year to be proficient in reading and math by 2014. Title I Distinguished Schools may also be recognized for their progress in closing the achievement gaps between white and minority students, as well as economically disadvantaged students. J. S. Clark Elementary is being recognized for its progress in both categories.

W. W. Stewart Elementary School and J. S. Clark Elementary School will be honored in January during an event in Tampa, Fla.