Rice Festival crowns Rusty Fulton, Phoebe Henry, as Junior King, Queen

From left, Phoebe Henry of Morse Elementary and Rusty Fulton of St. Michael School were crowned Jr. Queen and King of the 77th International Rice Festival. Phoebe is the daughter of Jamie and Leonard Cormier and Dustin Henry; Rusty is the son of Dwayne and Christine Fulton.

On a sunny autumn Friday morning as festival goers were just beginning their day, the International Rice Festival crowned its junior king and junior queen to reign over the 2013 Children’s Parade.

Rusty Fulton and Phoebe Henry were chosen as junior king and junior queen, respectively. They were crowned by Superintendent John E. Bourque and his wife.

Rusty is the son of Dwayne and Christine Fulton, and is a student at St. Michael School.

Phoebe is the daughter of Jamie and Leonard Cormier and Dustin Henry, and is student at Morse Elementary.

A court was also named as Haley Rivette, was named first runner-up. She is a student at Mire Elementary and is the daughter of David and Lisa Rivette. Andrew Martin was also named first runner-up. He attends Mermentau Elementary and is the son of Millie and Chuck Martin.

Named second runners-up were Rayne Catholic School students Ella Hoffpauir and Ian Fruge. Ella is the daughter of Robert and Jenika Hoffpauir and Ian is the son of Mark and Angie Fruge.

The judges, Angela LeBlanc, Kelly Courville and John Hines for the princess contestants and Linda Gordon, Joel Vincent and Lisa Strauss for the princes, were tasked with the tough decision of whittling down the 36 in total contestants — 18 boys and 18 girls — selected by each school to represent them in the contest.

Other princesses in this year’s contest were Analie Dupuis, Kirsten Ratcliff, Elizabeth Hensgens, Maria Ladner, Karen Martinez, Che’Yanna Jennings, Ava Hebert, Haley Rivette, Elizabeth Patti, Gracie Miller, Hayden Schexnayder, Abbeygayle Miller, Leah McDowell, Tyra Francis and Madison Melancon

Other princes in this year’s contest were Ashton Daily, Tyrone Francis, Dayne Fruge, Avery Nation, Jade LeJeune, Alex LeJeune, Tallon Gamez, Nathan Lavergne, Christian Leonards, Bryce Cronin, Gavin Guillory, Cohen Herpin, Christian Beasley and Braylon Matlock.